The Royal Aeronautical Society Council

2015 Council election is now live. Click here.

The Council is elected from the Society's membership. It is chaired by the Society's President and oversees all aspects of the work of the Society. It is ultimately responsible for furthering the aims and objectives of the Society as laid out in the Royal Charter and By-Laws. It does this by determining policy and direction and ensuring adequate resources are brought to bear to pursue these objectives effectively and efficiently.

The Council consists of:

the President — ex officio;

the President-Elect — ex officio;

the Immediate Past President — ex officio;

the Presidents of Divisions — ex officio;

the Chairman of the Branches Committee — ex officio;

the Chairman of the Specialist Groups Chairmen Committee — ex officio;

eighteen members elected by the Society on a three-year rotation;

up to three members co-opted by the Council on the sole grounds that an important area of the Society’s interest is not otherwise represented on the Council.

The President-Elect is the sole Vice-President.

Elected members of the Council shall be elected by the Voters by ballot from amongst the members of the Society. Subject to By-Law 11.5, elected members shall hold office for three years and shall be eligible for re-election.

At least half of all the members of the Council at any given time must be Members, Companions or Fellows of the Society.

2014-15 Council



Air Cdre Bill Tyack CBE FRAeS RAF


Mr Martin Broadhurst OBE MA C.Dir FloD FRAeS


Mrs Jenny Body OBE FRAeS

Elected members 

Prof David Allerton BSc CEng FIEE FRAeS (Audit & Compliance Board Chair)

Prof Chris Atkin MA PhD CEng FRAeS (Professional Standards Board Chair)

Mr Marc Bailey MRAeS

Mr Lee Balthazor BTech(Hons) MSc DMS CEng FAPM FCMI FRAeS

Mr Phil Boyle BSc(Eng) MSc CEng MIEE FRAeS

Mr David Chinn BSc(Hons) CEng FRAeS MIET AIL    

Prof Jonathan Cooper FRAeS CEng

Capt Hugh Dibley MCILT FRIN FRAeS   

Capt Joachim Kramer FRAeS

Mrs Joanne Lindsay Eur Eng BSc CPhys MInstP CEng MAPM MRAeS   

Mr Ian Middleton BA MBA FRAeS

Air Cdre Jayne Millington MA MA(Oxon) FRAeS FCMI RAF

Dr Thurai Rahulan BSc(Hons) PhD AMIMechE     

Dr Donald Richardson PhD Hon FAIAA FRAeS

Prof Graham Roe IEng FRAeS (Learned Society Board Chair)

Ms Lara Small ARAeS

Mrs Clare Walker MA CRAeS

Dr Alisdair Wood MRAeS CEng

Division Presidents

AM Salim Arshad FRAeS (Pakistan Division)

Mr John Vincent CEng FRAeS (Australian Division)

Dr Glen Sneddon PrEng PhD MSc (Mech Eng) (South African Division)

Mr Frank Sharp FRAeS (New Zealand Division)

Branches Committee Chair

Mr Mike Goulette FRAeS

Specialist Groups Committee Chair

Mr Jeremy Graham CEng MRAeS

Co-opted Members

Rear Admiral Simon Henley CEng FRAeS

Professor Richard Crowther CEng FRAeS


In attendance

Mr Simon Luxmoore MBA FRAeS

Mr Patrick Slomski