New Zealand Division

A Branch of the Society was established in Wellington in 1946, and meetings were subsequently held on an occasional basis. Following correspondence with the Society in London, the New Zealand Division was formed on 1 January 1949. The first Divisional Council meeting was held on 8 February of that year. The New Zealand Division is an incorporated society operating independently, but within the Charter and bylaws of the main society. The Division is governed by an elected Council, and operates to rules established in compliance with the requirements for an incorporated society in New Zealand.

Branches of the new Division were established in Canterbury, Wellington, Palmerston North and Auckland in 1949, Hamilton in 1972, and then followed by the establishment of a Branch in Blenheim.

New Zealand Division 2015


President  Frank Sharp
Vice President  John Macilree
Secretary  Ritchie deMontalk


Their Excellencies, the Governor General, Lt Gen The Rt Hon Sir Jerry Mataparae, GNZM, QSO, and Lady Janine Mataparae have graciously agreed to host a Vice-Regal dinner at Government House, Wellington, on Friday evening, 1 April 2016, as part of the New Zealand Division’s celebration of the Society’s 150th Anniversary.

All Fellows, Members, Associate Members and Branch members are welcome to attend, with partners. Attendance is limited to 100 people and will be on a ‘first come’ basis although full ‘Members’ of the Society who have rsvp’d by Friday 15 January 2016, will be given priority, should there be an oversubscription for this dinner. Members of the Honourable Company of Air Pilots are also invited to join us for this dinner. The cost of the dinner is $100 per person.


Click on a Branch to see full Branch Details